Freewrite July 20th

I’ve been a bit obsessed with the Red Hot Chili Peppers (again?) today. I’ve been actually going through all kinds of music lately, and really studying sound development and the process of music making. I was listening to some Xavier Rudd and reading a story from him, then going deeper into the sound and lyrics of Nahko and Medicine for the People, then moved on to the Beatles and tried to listen to the difference in sound before and after Magical Mystery Tour (after in which they went to India and had somewhat of a spiritual transformation, especially George). Today, I found myself back with the Peppers, as I was listening to their latest album last week, and now again, also diving back into their past a bit. Listened to their interview of some of the songs of Stadium Arcadium and got a bit of a grasp of their music making process and imagined myself in the studio with them. I made me also think back of all the musical experiences I’ve had in my life, especially the creation of it and jam sessions and it made me want to do and be more.

The thing is, I want a lot of things. It’s hard to find focus sometimes. But its good to work in a project based manner. Right now, I’m thinking of finishing a song that I have sitting on my smart phone as a recording. John Lennon wrote like 15 songs during his time in India, Paul McCartney about a dozen and George Harrison wrote 6. Even though their lives were dedicated to music, I’m sure with my will and determination I can at least finish what I started some months ago now.

At the moment I’m at work, and I try to keep myself productive and thinking ahead. Working on my own business a lot lately as well, making designs, planning materials, writing requests, studying processes. It takes a lot of energy too, and even though I enjoy it, and its interesting, I need variety in my life. Writing a blog is a welcome way for me to express my feelings and thoughts, doing something different while I’m here.

Work is pretty easy going for me at the moment. I just finished some administration to pay workers which is a sort of meditative process for me as I focus on efficiency and automatizing as much as I can. Probably in my genes since my father and grand father both specialized in Information Technology. I listen to music and do what I need to do.

I reply to emails when they come up and try to be proactive on most tasks that need doing. I push myself to finish a task so that I can play a quick game afterwards, matching the task-reward aspect of my brain. I probably have a bit of a gaming addiction but going about this strategically seems to work as I discipline myself to enjoy these things after tasks I don’t like doing.

At home everything is fine. I’m missing a certain someone but won’t go into details about that. Life’s good here though. I’m a lucky man.

I’ve been having a couchsurfer over from Brazil who’s a mellow guy. He’s actually from the Congo but studies in Brazil momentarily. I got the last season of Game of Thrones from him so will watch that in the coming days possibly. I was watching an old episode the other day because he put it on when he was transferring it to my external drive and I was just glued to the screen after that. Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister) is such a fantastic actor, Tyrion being one of my favorite characters as well.

So yes, I’m a bit behind with that. Not a terrible thing, because now I can just marathon the whole thing and be done with it. Other things I’m also behind on is Pokemon Go… although now that I think about it, I’m kind of curious how many Pokemon I can find on the island. Water Pokemon on the beach perhaps? Hmmm… perhaps worth to find out one of these days.

I also think about my family every now and then. My dad, who’s mostly busy with his hotel software business in South East Asia and my sister, busy with her life in Groningen, the Netherlands, trying to combine her business savviness and creativity with waste reduction and marine conservation, which is part of her job. My mom is in Thailand and I know its probably hard for her to have her family all over the place like this. At least she has more opportunity now to visit her parents and brother who she normally wouldn’t see as often when we were living in the Netherlands. I miss them sometimes… although I’m glad I am where I am.

Cabo Verde has been good for my growth. I’m in the prime of my life which means that now I have to chance to establish patterns and habits for myself which will have impact on my later years. I’ve matured more on the inside, feeling secure with who I am, and letting myself express who I am with more authenticity. A lot of the things I read on these personal development blogs I seem to already have, or already be doing. I’m on the right path, and it feels good.

I’m excited for what the future holds. I’ll make a quick stop in the Netherlands in October, and hopefully visit at least 1 other country as well, but for the rest I’ll be in Cabo Verde at least until the end of March 2017, quite possibly longer. So far so good here anyway.

I’ll leave it at that for now since I think the electrician for my company just arrived. Will update some more later.

Have a great day. Tchau!

I.

This entry was posted in Cabo Verde, Iemke, Personal Development, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

