Workdays and a surprise Chinese cultural show + poi fireshow on the beach

I really am trying to make the most of work here. Mostly, its giving me the time and space to reflect on myself. There hasn’t been anything pressing and I’m quick to troubleshoot problems when they do come along… which has given me a lot of freedom and free time.

At the moment, I’m working on my book again, diving more into the stories of my tattoos since life up to the first tattoo is on my glitchy computer. It gives me something to focus on… and it makes me reflect on how my past has affected my present as well and how I’ve become the way I am by what I’ve gone through. I really am just going with my gut, focusing on flow and linking stories and elements.

Sometimes the electricity is out for a few hours here, which gives me time to ponder life in its raw form. Friday, I was observing a herd of goats, being around them so they’d get used to my presence. They got close, but kept enough distance for themselves just in case.

I took a walk to explore the neighbor’s property and noticed the separation of their pumpkin and corn plants. The concept of a ‘3 sister garden’ might well be something unfamiliar to them… I’m not going to attempt explaining that in Kriol just yet.

It seems that our neighbors are in a way applying some degree of permaculture in their systems but I see potential for more. It would be great to set up a course here.

This sunday going to check out a capoeira school in another town run by a friend who is also from Rotterdam. Should be good ๐Ÿ™‚

Enjoying the simple life here and hoping to get a fire going with my own project as well. I’ve scouted out some potential resources but need to know where I can get some other material locally… I might have to share my ‘needs’ list with perhaps someone in my company. But easy does it. No rush. We’ll get there.

I wrote the above piece during work… but after work I had a surprising Friday night come to greet me. Someone I met when I was getting my medical checkup invited me to a Chinese/Cape Verdian culture sharing thing at the National Assembly. It was pretty awesome ๐Ÿ™‚ here are some photos:

image

image

Kung Fu demonstration… more based on acrobatics

image

image

…yes these guys were jump roping while standing as a pyramid.

image

image

image

image

image

My friend Meka playing guitar ๐Ÿ˜Š

image

image

image

After the show was finished, I still wanted to make the most out of the night since I had some friends chilling on the beach with the full moon. I wanted to do a fire show on the beach as well so made my way home afterwards to get collected, then went to meet my friends.

After a bit of a journey to get some fuel and back, I prepared my fireshow on the beach. They filmed a bit of it:

https://youtu.be/Ky3LCecyt-s

Good times here in Cape Verde. Its amazing what you can experience when you leave your mind open towards the possibilities. Hope to keep updated and will write again probably next week. Ciaooo!

This entry was posted in Cabo Verde, Enterprise, Iemke, Martial Arts, Music, Permaculture, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

