Reflections of my journey

I came back biking from Amsterdam today. That’s between 70-80km of cycling. The weather was great though and everyone was out on their boats in the canals. 

I cycled to Amsterdam on Sunday in the first place because I went to practice some songs with Menno for our performance coming Saturday. We’re going to just jam although we did prepare a few songs. It was fun being there. We had some excellent jamming sessions, talks and watched ‘Scott Pilgrim vs The World’ in the evening which is a movie I highly recommend. 

I also got some new work recently working at an Arubian/Cape Verdian café. It’d be good to learn some extra (barista) skills there so I can apply for jobs elsewhere with more flexibility. Its a fun place to work as well and its in the same street where I live which is convenient. 

My permaculture projects are the reason why I haven’t started looking into anything like an internship just yet, although keeping my doors open. In Oktober there are plans to go to Cape Verde to see what we can do there. Until then, its all about keeping my finances in check so I can afford to go there. Gotta hustle. 

Other than that, keeping my Kung Fu skills active. Would be cool to offer a course to people to get a Shaolin Kung Fu introduction. Would also be cool to give permaculture workshops. 

My attention is split between too many different things sometimes. Thats why its nice to do something like longdistance biking because its something I can focus on. My knees aren’t super happy with biking though. I don’t remember getting that with skating which is maybe a hint for me to get back in the game with that. Gotta fix my setup though. 

I’ve got a few things lined up for myself which is good for me to aim towards. Its not always easy to set your own objectives and follow through on them, but its good that I sometimes have this nagging feeling inside myself which pushes me to go out and explore. I am my own coach and I find I’m usually harder on myself than I am on other people. It’s good to reflect with other people to see where I’m at, and whether I need to push a bit more or cut myself some slack. That’s what friends are for. 

My writing hasn’t been straight and disciplined but I’ll keep it up in an organic way with the aim of blogging once a week. Hope to share something of myself since I’m not always one for taking pictures (which I probably could do more of) but I like reflecting the moments I encounter: where I’ve been, where I’m going and where I am.  That’s it for now and see you next week! 

This entry was posted in Iemke. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections of my journey

  1. joukep says:

    The knees! Yes, that runs in the family!

  2. iemke postma says:

    I suppose it does. Although skating an average of 80km everyday for 2 weeks during my 12 province skate back in 2011 was fine, meaning no injuries (other than blisters). So maybe our Friesian blood was meant more for gliding over things rather than cycling 😉

Leave a Reply

