Sleepless nights so might as well blog

Another week has passed and I find myself with really strange nights of sleeplessness. I watch a lot of videos on the internet in these hours, which lately has been things from VICE and related videos. I had a while where I was watching a lot of TED talks as well but at some point, you get overloaded with information and you need to figure out how you can go out into the world and do something with it all.

We constantly get bombarded with images and news on the internet, such as the Charlie Hebdo happenings. Whenever I hear about stuff like this I get in my mind a quote by Stalin in which he says “a single death is a tragedy; a million deaths is a statistic.”

We tend to distance ourselves from the war and suffering that’s happening elsewhere in the world until it strikes a chord closer to home. I believe in “being the change you want to see in the world” (Gandhi), and taking action within yourself to make the world a better place. The goal of the Charlie Hebdo magazine seems to be to provoke reactions of disgust and controversy, and like a self fulfilling prophecy, they achieved it. Although I don’t see violence as the answer, I don’t see how abusing the right of free speech to solidify racial division among people is doing anybody any good either. Then again, I feel the same way about the many rappers who express their need for money and bitches as their sole purpose in life. We all have our goals I guess.

Even though I’m jobless at the moment, I’m still trying to be productive: sorting out money matters for Seedsavers NL, attempting to create a Permablitz group in Rotterdam and collecting resources to start growing a new batch of mushrooms. All permaculture related things so that’s good. The pattern still holds.

Seedsavers NL is going through some quiet times although we still have our annual general meeting planned in early February. That should be the kick start for this year. I’m wondering about how we’re going to finance this ship and I’m attempting to make cash flow as easy as possible within the organization by sorting out an automatic collection system for our membership fees. I’d like to see Seedsavers NL as a platform for swapping seeds with members, and hopefully we’ll have a bit of a collection ourselves so we can kick start our members. That’s the goal at least.

A Permablitz group is something I’ve been pondering for a long time. I’m glad I’ve got the first steps into it. Now I need to make it happen. I need to plan our first meeting and sort of outline what Permablitzing is about. I’ve got 8 members now on my Meetup page, which is a start to something at least. I really hope I can do some practical design work somewhere though as I want to keep myself sharp by putting the tools of my trade into action. I’ll find a way.

This mushroom business started evolving because of my roommate who said he wanted to do something with it. I told him what I needed and he was like “well lets go and get it!”… he seemed excited enough and I couldn’t really say no. My plan is to grow the new batch on used newspaper (carbon source) and coffee grinds (nitrogen source), both of which are freely available. I recently bought a cord thermometer since I need to monitor temperature when we’re pasteurizing the newspaper. The coffee grinds don’t need sterilization if used within 4 days of attaining them. I’m waiting until my roommate gets back on Sunday because I really don’t feel like doing this alone; its ok to be excited about something but you’re also going to have to put in the blood, toil, tears and sweat into it to make it happen. I need to know how much I can rely on the guy.

For the rest, I’m starting to edit some video footage I shot skating the treks from last year. Here’s a link:ย https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y_k5iAUwqR. Its funny watching it back as well. Good times, even in the bad. Makes me want to do and see more, and share it with the world. I found myself in the Mediamarkt recently as well, glued behind a flatscreen TV which was advertising the capabilities of the latest GoPro. Indescribably awesome. It helps that they shoot all these amazing activities in these amazing locations. Its probably the next best thing to actually being there and doing it. I felt like I needed it too, to escape this brick and mortar reality I live in. I’d really like to do a trek in nature, my thinking being towards a self supported cross country ski situation which I probably need to train and practice for, but after my study, who knows what’s possible. I’ll have no anchor holding me down except for the fact that I need to survive somehow, which means I need to be in service of others and create enough business to sustain myself at the very minimum. Ideally, however, I’d like to thrive.

Where this life will take me I just don’t know. I keep reminding myself how lucky I am though to be in this situation and have these opportunities, especially when I feel a bit low. Gratitude helps me snap out of my lows quite fast. I guess that’s one of the things I retained from a TED talk I watched. And smile ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll do my best to spread love, understanding and compassion in this world although its not always easy. We tend to get so serious sometimes, and our egos and our judgement often gets in the way. But whatever the situation, embrace it, and live in this moment. Open up your heart to those around you and have some trust in that which guides you. Take it all in without attaching emotion to it. Be present. Be here. And relish in the power to change in this instance.

Thanks for reading and hope you’re having a great start to the new year yourself. May you be blessed with all that is good in the world and have the strength to take on the bad. Keep going because the world needs that special something that only you have (Marie Forleo).

I’ll see you next week ๐Ÿ˜‰

This entry was posted in Enterprise, Iemke, Permaculture, Personal Development. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sleepless nights so might as well blog

  1. joukep says:

    You could have worked in Indonesia, remember?

    • iemke postma says:

      Meh. I’m sure someone else will receive more joy from a position like that. The cold doesn’t bother me, and I’d rather be following my own dreams. Rotterdam is only temporary so I can bite it through. Besides, I’ve got room to experiment and I’ll survive on my own terms. C’est รงa.

      • joukep says:

        Yes, you always have to follow your own dreams but that was not the point. The point was that it would generate an income for you and that there is a huge overlap with what you persue in life. No worries!

  2. Wais Anwari says:

    Guru, its good to know you r still following your own dreams, keep it up! I’m sure you will end up somewhere you definitely will like!

Leave a Reply

