1st Week in Ireland

What a trip. Especially the ride getting here. I’ve got a bit of filmed footage for that but I need to get my hands on a PC to edit it all.

Being at the farm is different as well. Its a lot more comfortable than my skating trip to the farm, with my off the grid cabin and all the facilities around me. I’m very deprived of technology however which has given me a lot of time to reflect and do some reading and writing. I’ve spent a lot of time sitting in front of the fire just being in the moment. I do feel that I could be a lot more productive with a computer however.

My music making is taking small steps as well. It’s like I’m moving a big boulder, but I feel that once it gets rolling, it’ll have more momentum to keep going.

The farm work has been pretty straightforward so far. A lot of seed collecting, planting and weeding and turning soil, that last bit going against my Permaculture nature but then again, the soil is pretty hard and they’re planting a cover crop to occupy the niches the weeds have taken. I suppose still within permaculture thinking. They get some really nice yields here, and since they’re all about the seeds, everything gets a chance to go to flower… Which is cool to see, especially with these tall leek and onion seed heads or these huge cucumbers and courgettes you get. Learning passively, but also directly through workshops… And bombing everyone with questions 🙂

I’m not sure if I could live in Ireland for life, but its definitely good to be here and see a different side of Europe. I’m actually hoping to travel more when I get back to the Netherlands, at least, a lot of my thoughts have taken me to move more south… Like France as a start.

I’ve got some basic French and it’d be good to dive into the deep end with it. Also, the French do a lot in terms of hemp production (biggest hemp producers in Europe?) and a lot of other agricultural stuff like biodynamic wine which I might be interested in. It would be good to see more of Europe whilst I can anyway 🙂

At the farm I’m getting a €50 weekly allowance plus free accommodation, free workshops, free meals sometimes and a lot of other benefits… Which is suiting me just fine at the moment 🙂 the weather has been great as well even though I’ve got the gear to withstand harsher conditions… Not that I’m asking for it or anything 😉 I’m going to try to negotiate computer access in after-hours so I can upload my videos from the skate. It’s mostly just me talking and pointing the camera at things but would be good to share anyway.

Feeling good so far although I realize I do like my technology every now and then 😉 unplugging has its benefits too though. Will let you know next week if any new developments arise but thats all for now. Ciao!

This entry was posted in Iemke, Permaculture, Personal Development, Primal Life, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1st Week in Ireland

  1. joukep says:

    Would love to see your cabin and your thoughts on how to improve if applicable.
    France? What about Portugal?

  2. iemke postma says:

    I suppose I could take a few iPhone photos and upload those… Maybe for my next blog 😉 improvements to be made? Maybe some minor things here and there but its a pretty good setup as is. The area around the house could potentially be more productive but there aren’t many changes that need to be made.

    And I suppose Portugal could be possible as well, but haven’t looked into it yet.

Leave a Reply

