Visiting friends, Preparing for Ireland and Winter is Coming…

The days roll by. Ireland is coming closer. I’ve sort of prepared my journey there although I still need to figure out my path to the farm by stippling out the distances. I have at least a rough idea and prepared all my gear.

For the rest, I’ve been skating a lot in the last week continuing to train my condition and running errands at the same time.

I went to see Menno Thursday evening who returned from SE-Asia. He had plenty of new things to share and I learned how to play the Game of Thrones board game roughly. We also jammed ofcourse, and it was like old times except I could see Menno more evolved. It was good πŸ™‚

The next day, I came to the ACTA tuin in the middle of a tour for people living in an elderly home. I wasn’t that involved although I gave them a little guitar concert at the end. My first song received no response, one guy even rolling his wheel chair away (potentially avoiding the sound?) but I just played songs from my repetoire I thought might be fit for my audience. The second song and all the ones after that were responded to with clapping which was great, as it was recognizing a positive effect to what I was doing.

It felt good being able to play live for people to enjoy which I repeated that night at my friend (Berend’s) party. I usually enjoy jamming with other musicians too, although not everyone is good at accompanying all the time. A friend at Berend’s party was also able to play guitar, but not able to backup songs I was playing. I suppose it requires more creativity and skill to be able to do so, and it seems most people are only limited to playing what they know.

Music has made a return in my life recently. I started getting more into Bobby McFerrin’s musical interactions and his philosophy on music. It’s really quite interesting and inspiring. YouTube some of his things like his thing with the pentatonic scale, or his jam sessions with other musicians. He’s a cool character to explore πŸ™‚

Apart from music, I’ve also been exploring other opportunities. Like surfing in Katwijk on Saturday.

IMG_3585.JPG

The surfing was alright although the waves were kind of low. Especially as it got later, the waves became really dissapointing and I called it a day since I didn’t really feel like surfing white wash for the rest of the day. I had a good long sleep after this though. Surfing does that.

Today I went to a wild edible plant workshop with Lynn Shore.

IMG_3586.JPG

She’s a biology teacher although has been able to host more and more workshops on wild (edible) plants. It was good to be able to get a feel for wild edibles, and how a workshop like this is given. Hopefully I’ll be able to give a Permaculture workshop myself in the near future since I feel that it’s essential that people understand the basics of this.

We’ll see what else I can pick up in Ireland and hopefully am able to keep my permaculture journey going in one way or another. I don’t know what’s going to happen when I come back from Ireland but I need to start planning about how I’m going to survive the winter. My current thoughts lie in finding residence in Rotterdam (since I need to be there around March next year anyway) although a part of me also wants to travel south to continue WWOOFing there, and further my permaculture journey since I’ll have the time and maybe the resources. We’ll see. For now I might need to get some Ireland hard maps to get some exact details of how I’ll get to the farm.

Until next week where I’ll probably be updating from an Irish pub πŸ˜‰ ciao!

This entry was posted in Food, Iemke, Music, Permaculture, Personal Development, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

