Living Situation and the Skating Permaculturist

It’s been pretty easy living lately. I’m currently switching between rooms available to me, now living back at my Arubian skater friend’s house since he’ll be gone until late August. It’ll give me time to focus on finishing my online PDC in my own space.

The other space I was living at was Patrick’s house in the Jordaan. You can see the Westerkerk from the front door (which is also right by the Anne Frank house).

20140802-221259-79979555.jpg

Inside, there’s also quite a big space because they’re partly renovating and changing their housing situation. The floor floods from the bathroom everytime it rains heavily (which is a fault of the contractor who has now been fired) so the walls soak up a lot of the sewage water coming back from the drain. It’s a nice space nonetheless.

20140802-221727-80247798.jpg

It seems a lot of people feel sorry for me being homeless, imagining me as some poor kid having to live in a sketchy tent but I get by pretty well for myself. Even when I do camp out at the garden, I have worked out all the facilities for myself there, even getting free WiFi from the designers working on the corner of the ACTA building. It’s very cheap living, and a lot of my disposable income goes out on food and I’ve made some big purchases lately like a plane ticket to ireland and a nifty new pair of Fivefinger Vibrams. On top of cheap accommodation, I tend to also longboard everywhere which reduces my costs, and keeps me fit.

Another place which has also been one of my safe havens have been the Amsterdam Public Libraries. Because I have membership, I also get access to WiFi there which is really the main reason I go there seeing as all or most of the information I need is available online.

It’s funny to see other homeless people there as well, as its a place they can relax and read a bit in some comfortable chairs. I saw a guy taking a cowboy shower in the bathrooms, making the most of the 20cents toilet fee. He had a bunch of plastic bags with him, most notably one with a portable bong sticking out of it (can’t forget the essentials).

The security guards have also started to recognize me since everytime I go there, I hand in my longboard and write my last name on a piece of paper they stick on it. “Ah meneer Postma!” (Mr. Postma) they say when I come to collect my board. At least they recognize me in a positive sense.

It’s a great place to meet up with people too, often having our Seedsavers NL meetings there and last time having a brainstorm session with Joshwa about a skateboard journey. What I got out of that was that the training for a self supported skate trek was a good focal point for the journey, and could be acted on locally. I was thinking of planning weekend retreats, skating to somewhere, camping out, then skating back. Then again, I could also be teaching Permaculture workshops during that time and the whole skating to somewhere, camping out and skating again… I’m already doing that.

Perhaps there are seasons to implement each of my ideas. Specialization would be good too, and I’m starting to keep my interests more locked on some core competencies. I’m still exploring, but also want to deepen my knowledge and experience in the things I’m already familiar with. We’ll see where this all leads. Time will tell.

That’s all for now so hope to see you next week. Ciao bella!

5 thoughts on “Living Situation and the Skating Permaculturist

  1. In Victoria B.C. I was terrified of how many seemingly healthy people in their 20’s were leaving on the street. I always wanted to ask them why they were panning for money, when they looked perfectly fine to lead a normal life but I felt nervous around them. When you say homeless do you mean you pan for money as well? Would you describe it as a lifestyle choice and do you think there is an entire subculture being created ?

    It would be interesting to know your thoughts.

    1. By homeless I mean ‘without a home’. I don’t pan for money although I do try to get accommodation for free or cheap (by sleeping in a tent or staying with friends). I’ll probably find a room soon though as winter is coming… But I’ll be travelling to Ireland soon anyway, so not just yet 😉 and my thoughts on a new subculture… Well its definitely one of those elements that people can cherry pick into what they integrate into their unique culture. I’m sure people have their reasons but mine is simply mobility. It allows me to go anywhere and travel as I please without having significant attachment to any one place. Plus its cheap and allows me to get a closer look at who my friends are.

Leave a comment