Week 1: Introduction to Geoff Lawton’s Permaculture Design Course

It’s been the first week since starting Geoff Lawton’s Permaculture Design Course and it’s been really inspiring. It gets very intense sometimes as well, so I have to just watch a video, then do something else for a bit. I’m working harder on this than my university subjects at the moment, even though I’m still putting a significant time into that. Working on Supply Chain Management and Financial Accounting now.

My attention seems to always come back on permaculture and I’ve become somewhat food obsessed as well. It’s a fascinating world to be in. Even though not everyone might be involved with permaculture, there is definitely a surge of people becoming increasingly more aware of the food they eat and where they buy their products from. I had a talk about this with my dad today. He’s doing his own permaculture thing in Thailand, experimenting with concepts I’ve come across as well. It’s interesting how that path has affected all of us.

What I learned in the first week was a number of stories and examples of how permaculture can work in different ways, for different people, in different environments. Its a design science rooted in ethical principles and acts as a framework for other concepts such as bio-dynamics, vertical gardening, compost tea, Earthships and a whole range of other concepts to fit under. Geoff Lawton talked about a range of stories from practical application for a family with health problems and also enormous projects like at the Loess Plateau in China to rehabilitate the land.

I’ve been following Geoff Lawton for a while with his videos, and every video is supremely done. He’s got this very approachable personality that makes it very easy to learn from. The knowledge base he’s working on also spans over 30 years which is plenty of time to see your seeds actually grow into trees, and having also gotten a whole lot of consultancy projects going on worldwide in struggling places as well as richer ones. There was even a point made about that perhaps developed countries are actually in trouble the most because they rely on a huge amount of infrastructure to provide their needs, compared to developing countries who are more in touch with the land.

I’ve written a bunch of notes anyway. I’m tackling this the same way I am with my other subjects, although this is much more pleasant to listen to, and relevant, especially if we want to change the way we’re coexisting with nature.

I’d like this to be the focus of my blog for the coming weeks so that it also gives me a chance to recap and explain some of the things I’m learning.

That’s it for now and until next week!

 

 

This entry was posted in Food, Iemke, Permaculture, Personal Development. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 1: Introduction to Geoff Lawton’s Permaculture Design Course

  1. EcoMakeover says:

    Hi, I’ve just started a bit if my own permaculture research and come across the name Geoff Lawton a couple of times. I’ll be interested to follow how you find the course. I’m moving to a house in a few weeks and want to apply as many permaculture principles in the garden as possible. I’d love to read some if what you learn. Do you have somewhere to apply your new knowledge?

    • iemke postma says:

      Hi and thanks for commenting! I’ve got a community garden where I volunteer on where I can do my practical application. I’m currently overseeing the development of a certain plot of the land there where we are planning a 3 sister garden (although some modifications are likely going to be made). I’m also thinking of doing my design project on my own neighborhood with an urban farm concept so hopefully I’ll have a better sense of that after the course!

Leave a Reply

