Travelling within your environment

Today I got all my Management Accounting done. At least, I’m on track with that. HRM requires 3 chapters instead of 4 so I overestimated which is good. I could still get a head-start with that today, but we shall see.

I’ve been looking for something else to do after studying. Music was the answer.

I was walking around the house organizing stuff and I felt like I needed to go out of the house. But I wasn’t going to go without a mission, because I want to have a reason for going out in that weather. It’s not bad, but it could be a lot better as well. (If I’d have a dog I’d go out more- potential theory to test?)

I was at first thinking about going to the library and studying HRM there. But I didn’t want to go as far at the time. I then decided to play music in the park to practice my public playing, so I grabbed my guitar, longboard, and other gear and headed out.

The bike path is bustling with life. There’s all kinds of people there. Dog walkers, bike commuters, bike sporters, joggers, the occasional scooter.

On my way to the park, I find this bridge that was much closer. It was graffitied in different colors, and I just had the sudden urge to want to sing “Under the Bridge” under the bridge.

I set down my longboard and unpacked my guitar,  took my gloves off and started playing.

That was an intense moment for me. The whole guitar-playing-under-a-bridge thing actually was. All kinds of people going by, singing covers as well as songs that I wrote. Even improvising at one point, especially near the end. That was hilarious. I was basically commenting on what everyone was doing going by and singing a story about them. It was a lot of fun. I used the chords G and a C variation interchangeably for doing this. Keep it simple. Especially when improvising. You don’t have to do something legendary, but if you can, you might as well.

After I was fully pleased with my musical progress, I skated back home and started writing this blog. I’ll try to get an early sleep tonight so I can study tomorrow. Otherwise I’ll work on HRM if I can’t sleep. (I’ve been sleeping in the living room recently- seems to provide me the best sleep.)

I’ve also been thinking about my life in terms of it being like the Sims. Constantly developing skills, building oneself up and creating the best environment in order to perform. Sometimes you have to look at yourself as an avatar of a higher being. What I mean is that you try and look at your ego from a 3rd person’s perspective, and perhaps realize that the only thing that matters are actions reasoned by love.

What is love? Openness and understanding. Curiosity and care. Love is an action, and we have conscious control of that action. We can express love in the moment that we’re in right now. That’s how I see love. Perhaps that’s what Eckhart Tolle meant in “The Power of Now”. And that’s what I’ve been trying to live.

Peace.

This entry was posted in High times, Iemke, International Business Administration, Longboarding, Music, Personal Development, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

