Chatuchak and drinking with koreans

Since its officially the next day, I’m going to start writing another blog. I’m writing this sitting at a table with koreans, a chinese person and a thai person and I’m completely lost in conversation. We’ve been drinking shots of rice whisky and its on the house since I’m drinking with the owners of the hostel. With the liquor also comes gimchi and a plate of fruit which is really nice. Living the good life ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s good being independent actually. I get to experience things I wouldn’t otherwise have if I was under the constant influence of another person. It’s also the moment I feel that I have to say goodbye to Duane as I feel that our paths are vastly different. I understand now that he is independent and perfectly capable of travelling through this country by himself. It’s up to him to make the most of his time in the best way he thinks he can.

I felt really good about going to the Chatuchak market by myself as well. I got many stories just walking through.

It started raining when I was on the bus on my way to the market, but stopped when I arrived. After the rain, there were puddles everywhere and people were moving slower through traffic as they tried to avoid all the puddles. I had my Vibrams with me, so I changed my shoes in a phonebooth and marched through the puddles without a care. Those shoes get a lot of attention as well. Everyone stares if they notice. Its funny as well. There was a little dutch girl with her family who said “hey look at that guy’s weird shoes” in dutch in which I replied “crazy isn’t it?!” in dutch which left the girl confused and a little emberassed. It’s fun messing with people’s heads like that ๐Ÿ˜›

I notice I really enjoy tipping people as well. Like at Chatuchak, I gave 50 baht to this guy who sang kind of out of tune, but he was practicing and trying. He also got feedback from the local shopkeepers which was funny to see. I thought the 50 baht would help him fund the music lessons which he seemed to require. It was the smallest note I had as well, but he was happily shocked when he found a note in his can instead of the usual coins. Its a good feeling when you see people react like that ๐Ÿ™‚

I took a break from writing yesterday because I got too drunk with the koreans. Gimchi in one way, gimchi out the same way. Damn. I’m kind of hungover now as well so I’m just trying to stay as comfortable as I can, maybe grab some breakfast later. But this is a good place as any to put a stop to today’s post, so hope to see you again tomorrow! ๐Ÿ˜‰

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chatuchak and drinking with koreans

  1. joukep says:

    I would have loved to see the kids face! Priceless.

Leave a Reply

