Discipline

So today, I woke up by the sound of my roommate walking into my room saying “Iemke! Are you awake? Did you forget the run you were supposed to do today?”. I was halfway in a dream in which I was playing bass guitar in a fat guy’s face while they were sitting around a dinner table, and I was standing on top of it. A feeling of happy weirdness changed to that of a sense of urgency with a slight hangover.

I took 5 minutes to recover from my wake up call, then made my way upstairs to take a shower and get dressed for the 3.2 km run I was supposed to go on. It was a Victoria University student organized run, and I decided about a month ago I would participate with my 5 dollar deposit.

I packed all my stuff and was ready to go, and I stepped out the door and looked outside… and I hesitated. I was like ‘what the hell am I doing’ and decided to bail on the whole thing.

Now I’m still not sure if it was the right thing I did. On one side, I was completely not feeling for running because of the party I went to yesterday, not having any food at home for breakfast and being taken by surprise having completely forgotten about it. I was planning to take an easy day with my group meeting, do some studying, buy some food, schedule some stuff, transfer some money and do other errands. I also didn’t really feel like taking a bus, a train and another bus just to run 3.2 km. It didn’t really make sense to me at the time. The day before, I actually ran way more than that, and had a lot of fun doing free running through the city with my roommate running buddies. What partially motivated me was actually knowing that there was a prize, but I sort of assumed it would’ve been a mediocre prize which dissuaded me. Also, I already spent 5 dollars for signing up, however, the perceived value attained in staying than going was less than the 5 dollars, which is why I decided to stay.

On the other hand, what resulted is me not following up in what I say I’d do which shows a lack of discipline and lack of character. Maybe I should’ve just run even though I would’ve not been in my top form. I don’t know. But it seemed like too much effort for something I couldn’t really take seriously in the first place. But maybe that’s my own fault for not taking my own word seriously enough? Going there would’ve also given me new experience that I would otherwise not have gotten.

It seems that last paragraph struck me the most: discipline, character and new experiences is what I missed the opportunity to build on I now realize. I made the wrong decision by being affected by my environment and by my feelings. Even though it would’ve been uncomfortable going, at least I would’ve followed up on my word. Practice what I preach.

It’s not really that I promised to go, but I gave my word when I filled in that paper I now realize. I should be more careful about the ‘promises’ I make because if I want to stay true to my character, I have to follow through in the things I say I’ll do.

Over thinking issues? Maybe. But it helps me question what principles I should be following and how I can be the most integrate human being I can possibly be. A situation like this, although seemingly minor, may hold bigger answers for me later.

This entry was posted in Personal Development. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Discipline

  1. iemke postma says:

    Asking my roommate Mette about this, she concluded that I should ‘follow my gut’. So according to that principle, I made the right decision.

Leave a Reply

