Day 1 for polyphasic sleeping

So this was the first 24 hours of polyphasic sleeping. And I still managed to have a social life. What Steve Pavlina did was go straight into hardcore polyphasic sleeping. What I did, was go into an ‘everyman’ style based sleep pattern. So here it is broken down:

  • I took a power nap between 12:10 and 12:30. This was an excellent nap because it felt like I was sleeping for 3 hours, and I went into the REM sleep mode pretty fast (recognized by my dreaming).
  • I did my daily activities until I ended up at a shisha bar between about 19:00 and 23:00. During this time, I needed an energy boost so decided to meditate inside the shisha bar. This was a good call, as my 10 minutes of meditation really paid off, and I felt really energized after the meditation session.
  • I delayed my sleeping time for a bit by going out, but slept at 03:45 and woke up at 8:15.

and now I’m writing my blog. I don’t feel as zombie-like due to this sleep pattern’s similarity to monophasic sleeping. I did my set of pull-ups and have not noticeably lost any strength. My sleep times are not exact, but that’s the way it should be in my opinion if this is going to work for me. Meditation is a great alternative to power naps, and have the advantage of being conducted almost anywhere- in a chair, on a bench, in a park etc. I will still aim for the planned sleep times I set in order to have a frame to work with, but flexibility is key.

 

This entry was posted in Longboarding, Personal Development, Primal Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

