Entrepreneurial Seminar

This week was the STAR Management week at my school in where they get lots of cool people and companies to give presentations about business in their industry. One of the events they gave was the Entrepreneurial Seminar- something which caught my eye, and the only thing that really interested me.

It was very cool to hear these people talk about where they come from, and how they got to where they are now. One of the most inspirational presentations, in my opinion, was Liquido D’Oro– an olive oil company started by a Dutch guy who spent a lot of time in Italy after he finished his ‘HAVO’ (high school).

The reason I found his story so fascinating is because it perfectly summed up what I needed to do: use my network, communicate my idea, and do my own research. You’re never ‘too busy’ to start your own company. There’s always a spare hour here and there, especially if you plan it. If you’re driven enough, you can make anything happen. Use the moment wisely.

For my own projects, this means I need to start communicating my business ideas a lot more and talk to the right people to make things happen. I have to start seeing more value in the people around me, and appreciate them more for what they can teach me. I’m slowly starting to learn, and I can see this in my own behavior. We’re getting there. Slowly but surely.

This entry was posted in Enterprise. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Entrepreneurial Seminar

  1. joukep says:

    So, what are the business ideas? šŸ™‚

  2. iemkepostma says:

    ‘The Student’s Card’ is a great concept, but needs more energy to turn it into something real. It’s hard for me to get in touch with top management of the companies I want, but I might be able to work something out with a ’24 business game’- an event which turns ideas into reality by giving the different teams that sign up expert advice on their concepts, and in the end presenting the ideas in a business plan format. The winner gets a ā‚¬20.000 microcredit checque, a laptop for every team member and discount coupon of ā‚¬250 for the HOPE GetStarted Program. This will happen on the 14th and 15th November and is at least a step towards action for our company.

Leave a Reply

